IL Concealed Class Pricing Policy

What is Defcon-1’s policy regarding the length of the 16 hour IL Concealed Carry Course?

The Illinois State Police, per the Firearm Concealed Carry Act allows certain applicants with prior firearms training to take less than the entire 16 hour course of instruction.

It is the Defcon-1 policy to require all students to take the full 16 hour course of instruction. We do this because we want our clients to have all the needed information to conceal carry in Illinois. We have no control of training the student may have taken previously.

Because not all students are required to complete the full 16 hour course of instruction, we credit them appropriately for the amount of the course that we will provide that they are not required to take by the Illinois Firearm Concealed Carry Act. Our 16 hour course fee is $250.00.

When registering online or with a Defcon-1 representative, students who have completed previous training that would be acceptable under the Illinois law should select the appropriate payment category that suits their situation and pay the appropriate amount. There are three options. The student who has no previous training that is acceptable under the Illinois law. In that case they would have to pay the complete course fee $250.00.

The second option would be that students have training experience that would qualify them for a 4 hour of training credit. They would receive a $25.00 credit subtracted from the class fee which they would have to pay $225.00.

Training experiences recognized by the State of Illinois for a 4 hour reduction from the 16 hour training requirement is:

Concealed Carry Permits/Certificates

  • Utah 4 hours
  • Florida 4 hours
  • Nevada 4 hours
  • Missouri 4 hours
  • Kentucky 4 hours
  • Michigan 4 hours

Training Certificates of Completion

  • Illinois Hunter Safety Course 4 hours
  • Chicago Firearms Safety Course 4 hours

The final option would be students that have training experience that would qualify them for 8 hour of training credit. They would receive a $50.00 credit subtracted from the class fee and they would have to pay $200.00.

Training experiences recognized by the State of Illinois of an 8 hour reduction from the 16 hour training requirement is:

Training Certificates of Completion

  • NRA Basic Pistol 8 hours
  • NRA Personal Defense Inside the Home 8 hours
  • NRA Personal Defense Outside the Home 8 hours

Military Service

  • Honorable Military Discharge (DD-214) 8 hours
  • Active Duty Military (Current Duty Orders) 8 hours
  • Military Reserves 8 hours

It is very important to understand that you must have documentation to support your fee discount when you arrive on the first day of class. You must bring photocopies of certificates of training; DD Form 214’s and course certificates of completion.